Educon 2.2 – End of Day 2

I’m sitting in the back of @bhsprincipal’s car, driving north on I95 thinking about the last 24 hours at Educon.  Like yesterday’s post, what follows are some basic take-aways from that time.

  • I am still struck by Chris Lehmann’s talk yesterday and his emphasis on developing “Communities of Care”.
  • I am more convinced than ever that my decision to bring Powerful Learning Practices to my home district was the single best decision I have made as an administrator.
  • I need to read more about various national movements relative to education.  I sat in a discussion with Chris Lehmann, David Levin and Michael Horn about federal policy, and as interesting as it was, I needed to be better informed to fully participate.
  • Michael Horn is a tremendously genuine person who cares deeply about moving education forward.
  • I need to read more from Gary Stager, not only because he is very smart, but I think he will challenge the way I think and that is a good thing.
  • We, as a community, are struggling with defining what it means to be learned.
  • I’m tiring of the conversation about technology-reform.  We need to talk about reforming pedagogy in a way that enables technology to be ubiquitous and used appropriately.
This entry was posted in educon, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Educon 2.2 – End of Day 2

  1. Akee123 says:

    Nice post. . and I agree also. . I need to read more form Gary Stager. He makes you think.

    Thanks
    Rob Ackerman
    Principal
    Bedford, MA

    Twitter: Akee123

  2. Tony, I’ve been meaning to get back here to tell you I enjoyed meeting you, if only for a minute (while you were talking to Sheryl). My own PLP experience cemented my shift in thinking about teaching and learning as well. And since the first Educon, I continue to hold SLA up as the model. Hope we get a chance to run into each other again.

  3. Tony, I’m struck by your last point. I really do think this is more about reimagining pedagogy and curriculum to incorporate what we now know about how people learn and to anticipate the rapid changes that are taking place in the world.

    I also think that individual educators can’t wait any longer for the profession to catch up. We need to press on, do what’s right, and use whatever miniscule influence we have in our sphere to help the kids in front of us today.

    It’s also time to stop making excuses and laying blame. Yes, there are forces all around us that make this a challenge, but we have to work with what we have instead of wishing for something different.

    It’s interesting to me that so many people advocate education “reform” when what they’re really promoting is the opposite.

Leave a Reply

