Am I Really Obese?

This morning I ran more than seven miles at a mid nine minute pace. I workout 4-5 days a week for 75-90 minutes of combined weight training and cardiovascular exercise. My blood pressure is a bit high, but my cholesterol and blood sugar levels are both well below cautionary thresholds. My resting heart rate is generally between 56 and 60 beats per minute. I’m five foot, eight inches tall…

and I weigh 228 pounds. According the chart to the left, I am obese. According to most other measures, I am a healthy 38 year old male.

Makes me wonder why schools use standardize test scores to sort, level and label their students.

image source: http://www.efitnessrewards.com/home/Body-Fat-Diabetes-Heart-Disease-Joint-Pain.asp
This entry was posted in Family, personal, Vision and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

